In 2022, Apple announced that Arizona would be the first state to offer a driver’s license in the wallet feature. But having your ID card is one thing; you need to have the right Arizona liability insurance coverage if you want to drive safely on the roads.
Do you know the Arizona car insurance laws?
We will give you a breakdown of your insurance options and why automobile insurance is important. You must have the correct car insurance before you step into a vehicle, or you could get into trouble with government officials.
So, take note of these types of insurance and double-check you have all the paperwork for driving in Arizona.
What Is Arizona Liability Insurance Coverage?
Arizona liability insurance coverage is a government requirement for all vehicles to have liability insurance. This is a type of insurance that protects against claims from other people. For instance, if there is an accident on the roads, the liability insurance coverage will cover the payments.
Most of the time, these liability insurance claims are damages or injuries. But they can range from mild to severe, depending on the situation.
In Arizona, this insurance is required for all vehicles, including motorcycles and golf carts. Here are the minimum payments for liability insurance:
- $15,000 for property damage from the insured vehicle and driver
- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people in a vehicle accident
There is also a $25,000 amount for the injury or death of one person. In general, this vehicle insurance will pay for the driver’s medical bills and additional costs.
When you take out insurance with a company, you will be kept up-to-date on the policy changes and timeline for renewals. This way, you will never be on the road with the correct coverage.
You could risk losing your vehicle if you don’t renew your liability insurance when necessary. In some cases, it’s also possible for state officials to take away your driver’s license.
What Happens if You Don’t Have Insurance?
Any driver on the road needs to have insurance and can be asked to present their ID at any stop sign. There are two ways that you can prove your license. First, you can carry the physical ID card in your car storage unit, so it’s also nearby if you are asked to show it to a police officer.
Alternatively, you can use digital tools like Apple Wallet to present your driver’s license.
If you don’t have insurance and a police officer takes away your vehicle and driver’s license, you’ll have to pay fees to get them back. It’s also required that you file a proof of financial responsibility to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department.
Car Injuries and Compensation
It’s also good to know that Arizona is a “fault” state, which means that the person responsible for causing harm or damage must pay for the consequences. If you’ve been a victim of a car accident or damage, there are some options for you so you can claim money back from the incident.
As long as you have a reliable insurance company, you can start by making a claim for the damage or injury. To ensure that you are covered, you will need to take out separate insurance from the liability coverage.
The most common types of personal insurance policies for drivers in Arizona are personal injury protection (PIP) or MedPay, which is specifically used for medical bills. Your insurance company might be able to give you other options if you already have an insurance plan or want to set up a payment schedule that covers more than one thing.
Other options for filing a claim after an accident are going through a third party or creating a personal injury lawsuit in court. You can also learn about Uninsured Driver’s Coverage and how it can protect you when people don’t have insurance.
Again, the choice will depend on the severity of the incident.
Checklist for Getting a Car
If this is your first time owning a car in Arizona, you might be completely overwhelmed by the paperwork and keeping on top of the things you need to do for driving. But it’s also important for experienced drivers to refresh their memory when it comes to insurance requirements and safety procedures.
To prevent you from getting in trouble with the law, this checklist will give you an overview of the main documents and actions you need to take when getting a car:
- Ask about the car history from the dealer
- Check the registration and recent MOT certificate
- Read over the handbook
- Get in contact with an insurance company
Finding the right vehicle company will make monitoring insurance policies and getting the proper license plates a lot easier.
Ideally, you want to work with a professional team that offers more than one service. This means you can get your license plate, new vehicle registration, and the opportunity to verify the insurance documents in one place. So you can take the road without any worries.
Remember that you’ll need the Arizona liability insurance coverage before anything else, so you should make it your top priority when getting a car. The vehicle company will also help you find out the details for sending your updated insurance policy and keeping track of the timeframe for other policy updates.
Work With a Company for Car Insurance
The most important thing to know about Arizona car insurance laws is that it’s mandatory that you have an Arizona liability insurance coverage policy when you live and drive in the state.
You can talk with our team to find out more about insurance paperwork, registration plates, and vehicle-related questions.
Visit a GG&D location and you can find us in Pheonix, Glendale or Mesa. Get in contact if you have any further questions, and we’ll be ready to help!